Faceless Portrait

For my faceless portrait I chose my girlfriend, Ilana, as my subject. Unfortunately, she has had the flu most of the week and a good portion of our photo shoot was done in her bedroom, on the flip side it forced me to be creative with my lighting and composition techniques.

I had a lot of fun with this shoot, although I wish I'd had time to shoot outside (with two jobs I rarely see sunlight in the winter), it was interesting to come up with my own lighting and staged compositions. Although course my subject knew I was photographing her (I posed her for many of the shots), there was still instances where I managed to get some great shots that were "in the moment", specifically as she was walking up the stairs to her house.

One of my favorite shots of the whole group is the Chiaroscuro modeled shot of Ilana's tattoos (she sports two astronomy signs on her back; Cancer and Cassiopeia). It was tricky lighting this in the starkness of her mostly unfurnished, white-walled room, but I managed to use a candle and a kicker I created (using a desklamp with tin-foil) to mimic the organic lighting effect.

In all this was a great assignment, I had some problems getting a couple of shots, but in all after doing the reading I have a better understanding of the techniques and compositions mentioned in the book because of it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

