Why is it so hard?

I looked in on my blog today only to realize it’s been nearly a month since I’ve posted. I was SO aiming for the WordPress Daily/ Weekly challenge, alas, I failed miserably. Trust me, it is not my lack of desire to write, it is finding time to write. And when I say write, I mean more than the 140 character drivel I excrete consistently as a social media manager. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, however the constant Tweeting and Facebooking has limited my scope of creativity. Long gone are the days of lengthy stories and descriptive strategies, hell even my pitiful 90 page thesis is beginning to look like War & Peace (in length, not content). We are now a content driven society, we send and receive snippets of information in continuing streams. If an article is longer than 3 paragraphs we toss it aside and tell ourselves “maybe later, when I have more time” but the time never comes.

Aside from tweeting and posting for my company, Ride5 I have been involved with another little transmedia project call Zenith.  This independent, steampunk feature, written and directed by the talented Vladan Nikolic, has received some incredible hype over the past few weeks and is currently touring the theater circuit in the US while being available simultaneously on VOD.  As Social Media Producer on the project I have been responsible for once again tweeting and facebooking dates and film reviews as well as engaging with the PR team and fans.

So, forgive me if I have been remiss, I promise to write more as I find the time, really, I will. But until then, I hope you will be patient and follow me on twitter (@hartsaphire) or facebook (Jen Begeal) where you’re bound to hear a lot more from me and hear all about my crazy, busy social media life.

Leave a Reply

