It’s been a month already?

Crap! I suck at this writing daily/ weekly/ bi-weekly thing. When you write everyday for a living (social media postings) you can get a little burnt out creativity-wise. So, instead of trying to rack my brain for something witty and spontaneous I’m just going to give you all a Zenith update and promise to write about life, the universe and everything later. Really, I mean it, I will write…next month.

A little background: So, as many of you may or may not know, Zenith has become a bit of a pet project. The film itself is a dystopian, cyberpunk thriller (say that three times fast) with a transmedia storyline which engages with audiences across multiple online platforms. I was originally hired on last April through the New School as a research assistant on the transmedia element for director and professor, Vlad Nikolic. I was in the final stages of writing my Master’s thesis and somehow found time to take on an assistant position through the school (I wasn’t working at the time, so I had a few hours to spare). My assistant-ship officially ended in July, but Vlad asked me to stay on, and by then I was so immersed in the project, I agreed. 1 year later and the film has been screened in over 30 states, 150 countries and is quickly gaining cult status, I believe I made the right choice.

Where we are: Currently we are releasing the project in segments via VODO, a BitTorrent platform (don’t roll your eyes, they’ve gone legit). The multi-staged release has helped increase views and community engagement exponentially and as of today Zenith has been downloaded over 1 million times. Can’t ask for better than that, now can you? Our hope for the future is of course to recoup the costs of making the film as well as to subsidize further project installments. This is not a plea for money (though we wouldn’t turn it down) it’s just a stated fact in case you are wondering why I continue work on this project pro bono. And aside from having a great boss, a fantastic creative team and many opportunities to engage with other filmmakers, artists, musicians and actors I just plain love what I do.

In case you need more incentive to watch the film or just want to see what we’ve been up to, here are a few links to our transmedia project and reviews:

Transmedia:

  1. Z-Search
  2. Stop Zenith
  3. Jack’s Blog
  4. Priest of Truth
  5. Facebook
  6. Trailers

Reviews

Leave a Reply

