The Awesomeness of Female Pirates – An Interview with Author, Andrea Phillips

Pirates, Kickstarter and writing for your community in this one-on-one with author and transmedia producer, Andrea Phillips

I recently had a Skype with Andrea Phillips, author of A Creator’s Guide to Transmedia Storytelling, about her latest Kickstarter project, The Daring Adventures of Captain Lucy Smokeheart. I’ve known Andrea for a few years now, meeting at various transmedia events, meetups and occasional evenings at the bar, and wanted to get her personal take on creating a project from scratch. I was also curious about her influences and decision to use Kickstarter.

The first question I asked Andrea was to have her explain Lucy; she paused for a moment and decided it was best to start with her inspiration for the series first:  “Let me sort of back up a bit and tell you why I’m doing anything at all. Last year at SXSW I was talking to Adrian Hon, and giving him my age old gripe of, I do this really amazing marketing work, but I’m terrified of the day marketing people stop calling me and I don’t have any income anymore. So I’d really like to build some sort of a direct connection with an audience so that I have something to rely on under my own steam.” She paused for a moment before continuing, “and, well, Adrian looked at me and said ‘what are you going to do about that’ and then he walked away to get his coffee.” In a panic, Andrea says she needed to think of something to tell him by the time he got back, which led her to commit to making another project, Felicity. Over the course of the year she made slow progress on working towards her promised goal of building a connected audience, but now with Felicity firmly in the hands of her agent, she decided it was time to focus on a new project and to fulfill that promise… Read the complete interview here

Original posted on the Transmedia CoalitionLucySmokeheart

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

